Messi Shown Red Card in Barca Loss

Barcelona forward and Argentina captain, Lionel Messi, broke his personal record with Barca when he received a straight red card on Sunday.

Messi who has made 753 appearances for the Spanish giants received his marching orders in the 121st minute of their clash with Athletic club in the Spanish Super Cup final.

Lionel Messi

After playing a 2 – 2 at full time, Athletic club took a lead through Iniaki Williams in the first half of the 30 minutes extra time.

Things came to a head when Messi was shown a red card for an off-the-ball, right-arm swing at Asier Villalibre.

Although the referee missed the incident, Messi was shown a straight red card after a VAR review. The dismissal was Messi’s first in a Barcelona jersey.

However, the red card is not the his first as a player. Messi has been dismissed on two previous occasions with Argentina.

He could face a potential four-match suspension, after a postmatch review of the incident by the Spanish FA.

The suspension could see Messi miss his side’s Copa del Rey match against Cornella on Thursday, and ties against Elche, Athletic Club and Real Betis in La Liga.

+1

Leave your comment on this